Stereo Spring – A Modified Space Phone

This was a quick and easy project with a lot of sonic payoff for very little investment. I’d often wondered what this toy called the “Space Phone” would sound like in stereo, so I took 2 piezos and affixed them to each end of the spring and added 3.5mm jacks to the outside housings.

To test it, I ran the signals straight into a Zoom H2 hard panned via a cable splitter.

Listening with headphones will maximize the stereo effect.

I’ve since used it through my modular synthesizer with heavy delay processing via the Tiptop Z-DSP module in a Slithis track which can be heard here:

Flexus

Now I need to figure out an elegant way to do this with a Slinky.

Leave a Reply

